In order to view this object you need Flash Player 9+ support!

Get Adobe Flash player
Joomla! Slideshow

About us

Chris Hani Municipal District lies at the heart of the Eastern Cape. The second largest of the province's district municipalities is covers an area of 37 111 sqkm. Its population numbers about 823 000 giving it a low population density of 22 per square kilometre.
The majority of its people speak isiXhosa. Its boundaries stretch between the Joe Gqabi district in the north, OR Tambo district in the east, Amathole in the south, Cacadu in the south-west and a small stretch of the Northern Cape province to the north-west.
The district is divided into eight local municipalities. The seat of the district is Queenstown. The local municipalities have been grouped into six health districts: Lukhanji, Inxuba Yethemba, Intsika Yethu,Emalahleni,Sakhisizwe and Engcobo. There are commercial black cattle farmers situated around Engcobo.